A picture containing drawing

Description automatically generated      Soil Erosion Research        A close up of a logo

Description automatically generated

under a Changing Climate


An International Symposium sponsored by ASABE


Punta Borinquén Resort

Aguadilla, Puerto Rico, USA

January 8-13, 2023


A group of people walking on a grassy hill

Description automatically generated

Erosion research on a coffee farm in western Puerto Rico. Rainfall simulation on a steep hillslope. Photo courtesy Carlos Ramos.


ASABE Symposium web site -  https://asabe.org/Events/Soil-Erosion-Research-under-a-Changing-Climate 


Symposium Proceedings posted at ASABE Technical Library – February 3, 2023


Symposium Program with links to presentations, posters, pictures, and videos – here.



Plenary keynote speakers:

1.     A person smiling for the camera

Description automatically generated with low confidence Dr. Jane Willenbring – Stanford University

" Flash Forward: Predicting Soil Response to Extreme Erosion Events "


2.      Dr. Rafael Bras – Georgia Institute of Technology 

“Modeling Landslides in Puerto Rico with a Distributed Eco-Hydrological Model”


3.      Dr. Robert Stallard – Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute

"Extreme Rainstorms and Landslides in the Panama Canal Watershed – Lessons Learned from the Storms of December, 2010"


4.     A person smiling for the camera

Description automatically generated with low confidence Dr. Grizelle GonzálezUSDA-Forest Service   

"The Effects of Natural Disturbance in Puerto Rico: Forests, Infrastructure and Environmental Implications "



The symposium program included volunteered presentations, invited presentations, a technical tour, panel discussions, and discussion groups.  The program began on Monday, January 9 with an opening session and plenary keynote talk by Dr. Jane Willenbring, followed by concurrent oral sessions in the morning and afternoon, and a poster session in the evening. An all-day field trip of several erosion and disaster sites in western Puerto Rico was held on Tuesday, January 10. On Wednesday, January 11, a one-day visit to the University of Puerto Rico – Mayaguez and the Civil Engineering & Surveying Department and Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering Department highlighted efforts by faculty, students and cooperators on erosion and responses to natural disasters (hurricanes, earthquakes), including a plenary keynote talk by Dr. Rafael Bras, a number of invited presentations, and a student poster competition. On Thursday, January 12, Dr. Robert Stallard of the Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute was the plenary keynote speaker, followed by a full day of concurrent oral and poster sessions, and the symposium group dinner in the evening. The final day of the Symposium on Friday, January 13th was highlighted by a talk by Dr. Grizelle González of the USDA-Forest Service in Puerto Rico on her experiences with the island’s natural disasters in the forests and their effects on erosion, infrastructure, and the environment. A closing ceremony was held at noon, followed by lunch.


A close up of a logo

Description automatically generated A close up of a piece of paper

Description automatically generated


The American Society of Agricultural & Biological Engineers



United States Department of Agriculture

-         Agricultural Research Service (ARS)

-         Forest Service (FS)

-         Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)

University of Puerto Rico – Mayaguez

-         Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering Dept.

-         Civil Engineering and Surveying Dept.

METER Group, Inc., USA, Pullman, Washington, USA







The Symposium Proceedings are available on the USB drives distributed at the Symposium in Puerto Rico, and are now available at the ASABE Technical Library at https://elibrary.asabe.org/conference.asp?confid=soil2023.

Authors may still submit a journal article to the Symposium special collection by April 15.

Special Collection (peer-reviewed) Instructions (post-Symposium group)

1.      SUBMIT MANUSCRIPT TO ASABE JOURNALS (by April 15, 2023):           https://www.asabe.org/JournalAuthors

2.      Indicate during submission (in Scholar One) that the manuscript should be considered for the Soil Erosion Research Collection

3.      Instructions for preparing manuscripts in electronic format for the Special Collection are available on the ASABE website and here. Each paper will go through a full peer-review process following ASABE procedures.

4.      The Symposium Special Collection articles will be available at the ASABE Technical Library.

5.      Public access will be free for the remainder of the year of publication plus two additional years (i.e., through 2025). (Public access after that time may be purchased at regular rates.)

6.      Papers will be highlighted in an introductory article and will include an identifying logo.


For symposium information contact:

Dr. Dennis Flanagan, Symposium Chair

E-mail:  flanagan@purdue.edu

Phone: +01 (765) 494-7748


For information on abstract/paper submission, contact:

Dr. Anita Thompson, Proceedings Chair

E-mail:  amthompson2@wisc.edu

Phone:  +01 (608) 262-0604.


For questions related to ASABE, contact:

Jessica Bell, ASABE Meetings & Conferences

E-mail:  bell@asabe.org

Phone:  +01 (269) 932-7029.



ASABE web site:   http://www.asabe.org

ASABE Symposium web site: https://asabe.org/Events/Soil-Erosion-Research-under-a-Changing-Climate

This symposium web site:





Soil Erosion Research under a Changing Climate                 

Organizing Committee                                         

Symposium Chair - Dennis Flanagan                             

Local Arrangements – Megh Goyal                                 

Program – Johnny Grace III

Proceedings – Anita Thompson               

Other Members:                                                                 

Kyle Douglas-Mankin

Grizelle González

Eric Harmsen
Mike Kucera

John Leys

Manuel Matos

Debu Misra

Ismael Pagán-Trinidad

Luis Perez-Alegría

Charles Privette III

Carlos Ramos

Pete Robichaud

Mario Rodriguez

Sanjay Shukla

John Tatarko

Larry Wagner

Bofu Yu

Raul Zapata-Lopez